PDA

مشاهدة جميع الاصدارات : Comparisons between Persian dastgah and arabic/turkish maqam

Khosrovani
25-04-2010, 10:47
Hello, I am new in these forums. I saw some old threads asking about connections between dastgah and maqam, and I might be able to contribute. I play oud and I have a good knowledge of arabic and turkish maqam, and now I am studying the persian radif.

It is a very big subject, it would be easier to answer questions if any of you have any, but I will start by explaining a little about dastgah, my apologies if all this is know already. Dastgah does not equal maqam. Dastgah is a fairly modern concept (dastgah = system, in persian). It is in fact a system or sequence of gushe-ha (gushe = corner). A gushe is a melodic skeleton of a maqam, much like what the turks call seyir. A gushe is learnt orally from one's teacher, and the student must imitate the gushe perfectly, with all its various ornaments, rhythmic patterns and trills, whic are not aesthetical embellishments but all have a musical function: to instill in the student the musical flow or movement (most gushe-ha do not have a set meter) and plant the maqam deep in his heart.

Each dastgah has a few micro-systems or chapters that build it, each micro-system containing one or more gushe-ha. The dastgah is named after the first micro-system that opens the performance and that is constantly referred back to at the end of each chapter (this return to the home maqam is called forud).

The radif (= series) is the organisation of the gushe-ha into the seperate dastgah-ha.

Khosrovani
25-04-2010, 11:21