مشاهدة جميع الاصدارات : Question about vocal genres

jenni
20-11-2011, 03:41
What is the difference between

Dawr
Muwashshah
Qasida
Monologue
Dialogue (besides the fact that it's between two singers)
Taqtuqa

Since I've been listening to lots of Egyptian music lately, I guess it would be best to get definitions for that context, (if there is a difference between countries).

Thanks,
Jenni

Bassio
20-11-2011, 13:30
I am not an expert, so anyone can correct me here.

But to give some quick hints:

A taqtuqa is a light-weight song. The form can be easily recognized since it is similar to that of a Rondo. It is usually sung in local Egyptian Arabic dialect (unlike a qasida, which is almost always in classical Arabic).

A qasida is a more improvisatory form. The rhythm and tempo used is mostly uniform throughout. The performer modulates through the maqams, to end the piece after returning to the original maqam.

A monologue is kind of a free-form piece.

A dialogue is a duet.

Muwashah: not sure

Dawr: this is the most glorious form of Arabic Music. It usually starts with an introductory musical statement called a dulab. This is followed by the opening lyric (called mazhab, I believe), usually sung by the singer + the *usually two* mazhabgiyya. The mazhab is the constant piece of the dawr (i.e. the composed stable part) The performer then delves into the rest of the piece in an improvisatory fashion. By tradition, in the middle of many dors, there is an "Ahat" section where the performer and mazhabgiyya alternate singing "ah ah". The performer at the end is expected to end the piece by returning to the original maqam, just as you would end a classical sonata.

Although the dawr is improvisatory in nature, many performers sing their own personalized semi-composed versions. You can also think of a "dawr composition" as a skeleton or blueprint, which the performer should elaborate into a more detailed form.

PS You also forgot the mawwal.

Cheers

أبو علاء
20-11-2011, 15:01