PDA

مشاهدة جميع الاصدارات : Some general observations of an outsider

AmbroseBierce
03-03-2006, 03:01
I'm not too sure whether this is the proper section for my mail, since strictly speking it is neither an article nor a study, just some general (generalizing?) observations that came to my mind in the last couple of months.

To begin with: I am relatively new in the field of classical Arab music, and, as some of you will have realized already, don't even understand the Arabic language. All that means my approach to this music is based on very subjective terms (though probably art in general can't be approached in an objective way anyway). Since many years I have been listening to a lot of classical Indian music - again from a similar position like now. Then I moved into Persian classical music, and now have shifted my main focus towards the Arab traditions, including Turkish music (plus some other musical interests in between). Through that I may claim some experience in listening and in observing a tradition, so that I dare to voice some general impressions - from an outsider's perspective.

It seems to me that with a few exceptions the "great" musicians, particularly singers, of Arab classical music all have passed away quite some time back. There a some good instrumentalists, there are some good singers (I like Aicha Redouane very much, and even Warda is not too bad), but where are the charismatic personalities in the classical field? I find quite a number of good orchestras in the Maghreb, particularly in Morocco, there are a number of good Sufi musicians (again mostly instrumentalists) in Turkey, there are a few sheikhs in Syria and Egypt who sing great religious music, but where is today's Umm Koulthoum, Asmahan, Mohamed Abdel Wahab, Sali Abdel hay, Farid El-Atrache? Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I can't find them.